Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Best JRPGs

sullynathan

Arcane
So I'm new to this sub genre. I've only played Chaos rings on the phone and Ni no Kuni demo years ago and I liked both, Ni no Kuni was very exciting.

I currently started the first final fantasy and I'm also liking it but something about walking around a world with nothing on the surface then randomly stumbling into fights or getting ambushed rubs me the wrong way.

Which JRPGs are good or should be played? Does someone have to play all the final fantasy games?

Sigourn has compiled a list for us
I decided to keep the list as it was and not make any changes. People will have enough games to choose from.

As for me, I trimmed the fat of almost anything I could remotely consider questionable in any way or form when it came to weaboo, with a few notable exceptions. I ended up with 50 games that are much more reasonable to play than 100 (especially considering my Western list has like... 160 or so):

1. Baroque
  2. Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter
  3. Elminage Original
  4. Eternal Poison
  5. Eternal Ring
  6. Etrian Odyssey (Yes, I know)
  7. Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard (Yes, I know)
  8. Etrian Odyssey III: The Drowned City (Yes, I know)