Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Drakensang Series

Zewp

Arcane
Codex 2013
I bought both these games this week for <$5 because they looked like they have potential. Are they any good?

I started playing the original a bit and so far it seems that the combat and most of the gameplay systems are fairly solid, but the actual story and character interactions seem a bit iffy. I thought I'd play an evil rogue, but apparently the game is very railroaded and no matter what you do you end up being the good guy. I just hit the big city in the first game so I'm not very far in. Does it get any better later in the game? I was hoping for something with a bit of choice and consequence but it seems like all your quests play out the same with no option for alternative ways of tackling them.

Anyone play these recently who can comment?

Snorkack

Arcane
Patron
Shadorwun: Hong Kong
The combat is pretty atrocious once you start having squishies in your party which you can't protect thanks to lack of collission detection.
Apart from some hubs, you can't revisit areas once you finished your objective there. I hate stuff like this.