Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Using the OGL for Game Development

ProphetSword

Arcane
Developer
Creating a game using the OGL seems to be far more complicated than it should be. I'm no expert in understanding the legal complexities of the license, and I have a ton of questions. I figure that since others have either developed games using the OGL or have attempted to do so, maybe this would be a good place to ask questions and get some answers, not only for me but for others who might also be curious.

As for myself, I am terribly confused by things in the FAQ that Wizards of the Coast provided (located here: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=d20/oglfaq/20040123f). In particular, this section, regarding software:

Q: I want to distribute computer software using the OGL. Is that possible?

A: Yes, it's certainly possible. The most significant thing that will impact your effort is that you have to give all the recipients the right to extract and use any Open Game Content you've included in your application, and you have to clearly identify what part of the software is Open Game Content.