Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

First Person RPG with Best Itemization?

huntsman1899

Literate
I'm fairly new to RPGs and I've seen a bit about itemization. I'm assuming this refers to the quality of loot in a game? That the game allows you the freedom of finding special items that feel meaningful and even give you abilities you didn't have before? Of course if I've wrong, let me know (not that I have to remind this board of that...)

So what 1st person RPG do y'all think has the best itemization?

Citizen

Daggerfall lets you create insane overpowered mega super mighty artifacts in mage guilds

Dorateen

Arcane
Most (not all) classic dungeon crawlers nail this aspect. Might & Magic is outstanding in awarding varied items that have game-play impact, with Gates to Another World being a prime example. Again, I have to give a nod to Demise: Ascenion. I really enjoyed the weapon/armor/item upgrade system in that one.

Barbalos

Savant
Morrowind is a pretty good answer IMO. There are artifact-type items with powerful enchantments you can find in specific places or get as quest rewards. I believe some have enchantments you cannot possibly create yourself no matter how high your enchantment skill is.

CryptRat

Arcane