Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Sell me on Gothic 1 and the series in general!

nilco

Novice
Hai codex bros, I just started playing gothic 1 yesterday, did 5 quest in old camp 1 in sect camp, and today I totally dont want to start the game up, but I wanna beat it because everyone says the gothic series is amazing. The controls dont bother me to much but its the run of the mill story about saving the world and the bad setting of the prison camp that makes me not wanna play it.

So please sell me on gothic 1 and the other games, explain what makes the games great, and share your stories of adventure so I wanna play!

CorpseZeb

Learned
... such strong polarity of opinion, is usually a good recommendation to look at something.

Ps. Why G-series? Story. Hard, slow beginnings. Hard combat. Overpower, revenging endings. Slow, social climbing (G1/G2). Hugie and prettie world (G3 case). And lack of women (G1).

Ps2. Ok, there's was... two of their kind in the G1?

Morkar Left

run of the mill story about saving the world and the bad setting of the prison camp