Official RPG Codex Discord Server

1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

Anachronox - what's the appeal?

Discussion in 'General RPG Discussion' started by Lord_Potato, Mar 21, 2020.

1. Lord_Potato Arcane

Lord_Potato
    So I started playing Anachronox, thanks to the hype from the Codex and the fact you guys placed in on both the 70- and 101- list of best RPGs evaaaaar. Besides, I like to change things from game to game to keep it fresh. So, if my last rpg was a fantasy one, now I figured a science fiction one would be a good pick.

Anyway, after putting almost 10 hours into Anachronox (arrived at starport in Sunder and about to face the laser riddle to get into Rainbow Sanctuary) I just don't feel what's supposed to make this a good game.

The combat is atrocious. Bland jrpg formula, long, repetitive animations, weak encounter design, lack of really interesting enemies, except for the boss thing in MysTech tunnels. It does not respect my prescious time, and bores me to tears.