Official RPG Codex Discord Server

  1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

Commandos-Like Commandos 2 in 2021

Discussion in 'Tactical Gaming' started by Ovg, Nov 2, 2021.

  1. Ovg Cipher

    Ovg
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Potato
    So why not to buy the newly released hd remake:
    • Paying double for more bugs that weren't in the original game.
    • Censored.
    • Will probably do dlc.
    • It's fucking expensive when compared to commandos 2.
    • Why pay someone for not adding anything to a game that fans already did. It's like buying heroes 3 hd. In other words, a retarded choice.

    Ok, but what should I do Ovg you faggot?

    FIRST OF ALL CTRL+S quicksaves CTRL+L quickloads. You will be doing it a lot. So it's good to remember those.

    Steam Version
    Works out of the box if you want vanilla experience.

    If you want to use mods you have to do a simple operation. First go to the folder where the game is like
    • Then make a folder and call it backup.
    • Put everything BUT the folder called LEGACY inside it.
    • Now copy the LEGACY folder's contents to the main directory.
    • Set comm2.exe to windows95 compatibility
    GOG Version
    I don't own it on gog. If the folder structure remains the same do the steps above for mods.

    Now for the meat of the post, the mods. Just remember they don't work together. Pick one:

    1. Commandos 2 HD Project
    • Consider it both a compatibility patch for newer versions of windows and unofficial patch for the game.
    CyberModuled said it made the game skip cutscenes, and he proposed an alternative so:

    1b.Widescreen patch

    2.Destination Paris
    • It has all missions from commandos 1 to commandos 3. That’s over 500 missions to play.
    • Has some bugs with one commandos 3 mission but otherwise can be played nicely - more info in it's readme.
    • It's a lot harder than base commandos 2 so beware. There's more enemies. There's less items. All in all, if commandos 2 was too easy for you or you want to really test your patientece/planning skills, go for it.
    • They did some bugfixing.
    • Also, it too supports more resolutions up to whatever your desktop resolution is. At least it works in 1920x1080 on my side.
    • You can play coop with friends. Just remember. Quickload button doesn't work but the keyboard shortcut ctrl+l does.
    • The mod is quite big though. Like big. If your internet bandwith is limited do plan ahead somehow.

    Destination Paris
    Installation process is explained on the moddb page. BUT BEFORE YOU INSTALL RUN comm2.exe FIRST. The game needs to process some data or some shit or things might go sideways. Then when you install Destination Paris 2.0, patch 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3 just set Comm2P.exe compatibility to windows 95. Only launch the game through Comm2P.exe as the other one is not injected with modded code.

    One more note. Some anti-virus programs may flag Comm2P.exe as a virus or a trojan. According to users on revora forums, the premier site for commandos fans, it's not. So it's safe to ignore the warning.

    ADDENDUM
    This is what your folder should look like and how you should have set compatibility to windows95

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2021
    • Brofist x 7
    • Informative x 2
    • Prestigious x 1
    • Salute x 1
    • Friendly x 1
    • Racist x 1
    ^ Top  
  2. agris Arcane Patron

    agris
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,335
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    ^ Top  
  3. Ovg Cipher

    Ovg
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Potato
    Ah sorry. It included a mod too so I wasn’t sure where to post it. Mods can move or delete this thread then please?
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    ^ Top  
  4. CyberModuled Savant

    CyberModuled
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    434
    Personally I'm not a fan of HD but maybe I just got really unlucky with it. For some reason when I tried using HD, the pre-rendered cutscenes don't work at all and just skip. Sucks on its own but manageable since I can watch them elsewhere. Bigger issue were multiple occasions when I manually saved, the save would corrupt, crash the game, and then be unloadable when booting it back up. Quicksaved like a mad man and that has its own save slot so I always had a backup but was annoying as hell because it really did start to feel like Russian Roulette at times with something as simple as a manual save. Not a fan of the replaced assets for the menus either as minor as that is (What can I say? Original just looks cooler to me).

    I'd just suggest using the .exe patches for resolutions you can find here. Unfortunately, anything about 1440x900 comes with the consequence of visual issues like this whenever you're moving the camera around the map. Personally though, I think the resolution of 1440x900 is more than enough and the patch doesn't stretch to your max resolution so it's black bars for anything it's not filling up space wise. PrintScreen didn't capture the bars themselves, but it more or less looked like this, using the Burma level as an example.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    ^ Top  
  5. Ovg Cipher

    Ovg
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Potato
    Strange. It never happened on my end. Well, I edited the OP to add that link.
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    ^ Top  
  6. JackOfOwls Prophet

    JackOfOwls
    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,186
    Location:
    Massachusettes
    The censoring alone kept me from even considering C2 2020-21 Edition but IIRC I used that HD Mod on the old GOG/Steam version and there were either issues with the install or bugs in widescreen so I cried, "Phuckit! On to something else."
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    • Balanced Balanced x 1
    ^ Top  
  7. Catacombs Arcane Patron

    Catacombs
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4,934
    That is some whack shit.
     
    ^ Top  
  8. Kruno Arcane Village Idiot Zionist Agent Shitposter

    Kruno
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,364
    What's censored?
     
    ^ Top  
  9. Catacombs Arcane Patron

    Catacombs
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4,934
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • WTF am I reading WTF am I reading x 1
    ^ Top  
  10. Kruno Arcane Village Idiot Zionist Agent Shitposter

    Kruno
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,364
    • Racist Racist x 1
    ^ Top  
  11. Ovg Cipher

    Ovg
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Potato
    Mark my words. It will be sold as dlc.
     
    • meh meh x 1
    ^ Top  

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.