Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Falcom RPGs | Dragon Slayer, Xanadu, Ys, The Legend of Heroes, Brandish - Discussion Thread

Louis_Cypher

Arcane

I am not very experienced with their games beyond Ys and Trails of Cold Steel, but I like Falcom's work as a company. They seem to have an aesthetic and gameplay sensibility that is closer to Western RPGs, probably due to their PC developer heritage. They were one of the very first JRPG companies, and are important to the history of the genre in Japan. Dragon Slayer was a cultural phenomenon there.

Question: How does the Dragon Slayer / Xanadu / The Legend of Heroes series fit together?

This is something I could research myself but there is probably an expert here on the Codex. Do the various Dragon Slayer derived series actually take place in the same world? Like say is Dragon Slayer / Xanadu set in the distant past of the Trails in the Sky / Trails of Cold Steel world? Did they instead become separate things of their own after a certain release, like Megami Tensei / Persona? Is Xanadu now it's own universe too?