Official Codex Discord Server

  1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

HAY GUYS THE NEW VERSION IS OUT

Discussion in 'Prelude To Darkness' started by Naked_Lunch, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. chaedwards Liturgist

    chaedwards
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    London
    Playing it on my laptop with an intel 82855 graphics chip, the characters bodies aren't being drawn, resulting in a rather spooky starting sequence where disembodied swords and helmets enter the watcher's study. I rolled back to the earliest drivers on intel's site, but no joy - anyone any tips?

    A shame really, as I had it before, changed computers and never completed it. Still, getting a new desktop in a couple of weeks, so hopefully that'll run it properly.
     
    ^ Top  
  2. LCJr. Erudite

    LCJr.
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,469
    Is this bugfest worth the frustration? Starting to feel like I'm spending more restarting the game and waiting on Dr. Watson than playing it.

    Doing bussiness with storekeepers requires a mandatory save since about a 1/4 of the time moving things around in the inventory triggers a crash.

    Weird reincarnation of Jactus complete with dialogue at the remains of dead body encounter.

    Freeze when starting combat with Salje.

    And some other charming little glitches and crashes.
     
    ^ Top  
  3. galsiah Erudite

    galsiah
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,613
    Location:
    Montreal
    Does it crash or just freeze? I usually get an error message asking if I want to debug (not always visible). Pressing tab twice, then enter (i.e. selecting "Ignore") seems to get past any problem - at least in this situation.

    I guess I'm only getting the debug option since I've got visual C++ installed. However, maybe you could try pressing tab once, then enter. It might work.

    I didn't get this. I had similar trouble once or twice in Fallout though :).

    What annoys me most is that there seems to be at least one significant memory leak. A few times after a crash I've got a "Low virtual memory" warning, and hard disk activity does seem to escalate before many crashes.

    I also wish there were an option to autosave at the beginning of combat. It is rather vexing to have things crash 80% of the way through a large and difficult combat.

    I'm still enjoying it, but it would be a lot better without the bugs.
    If anyone has any bug avoiding tips, I'd be interested to hear them.
     
    ^ Top  
  4. LCJr. Erudite

    LCJr.
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,469
    I'm also getting the debugger without C++ installed. I'm able to alt-tab to it and it reccomends hitting "retry". I'll select ignore next time and see what happens.

    I got it on the way to the abandoned hut after Jactus fails to return. I got the you spot some remains message and then theres Jactus standing there. I went through the dialogue with him again and when the 1 hour wait ended we were surrounded and savagely mauled by a horde of cave dwellers.
     
    ^ Top  
  5. sheek Arbiter

    sheek
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8,659
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I have that exact chip... too bad, I'll stick to playing the demo.
     
    ^ Top  
  6. Frau Bishop Erudite

    Frau Bishop
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Mitten im Vaterland
    I played it for about two hours (it makes a good first impression so far) and had only one CTD, occuring when I turned the view. I stopped clicking but the view kept turning for a while, pretty fast - and suddenly the CTD saved me from barfing all over the keyboard. Good crash.
     
    ^ Top  
  7. xeno Novice

    xeno
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    I too sometime get the low virtual memory warning when it crashes. But I AM pretty low on memory.

    Another bug I discovered is that in two caves, when I move the camera too high with my mouse well it crashes. If I move it with the control pad (with numbers and stuff) it's perfectly fine.

    I restarted a game yesterday. My two fighters were using bows way more than their main weapon and it was way more efficient. So I started a game with 3 archers hehe. I still have the butcher kid as meat (no pun intended) shield. Besides, it's okay if HE dies, he just get unconscious where others I have to reload :? I'm still wondering why it's like that....secondary characters only get unconscious when they die but when it's one of the 3 main, that one die and it's over??........
     
    ^ Top  
  8. Harley Novice

    Harley
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Description Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
    DriverVersion 6.14.10.4342
    Memory 64 MBytes
    DirectX 9.0d

    Doesn't sing and dance I know but should be enough. I too am getting the invisible characters problem though. Fought on through the battle and am in the town but still characters are invisible apart from thier shadows, as are all NPC.
    Placing the mouse over a char does produce a green ghost ouline and the char name.
    Was running a much older graphics driver but updated to the latest with no change.


    Also changing the screen dimensions does not work

    [MAIN]
    WIDTH 1280
    HEIGHT 1024

    as they are automatically changed back upon program restart.

    The mouse movement is also a little retarded making exact positioning difficult, not a major issue as I am sure I would adjust over time but still unwieldly at first.

    I realise this program is free and am very appreciative of the time and effort put in so far. I also understand that to expect suppport is just greedy, but it does seem a shame, after such a long wait, to be unable to play the game.
     
    ^ Top  
  9. Trash Pointing and laughing.

    Trash
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29,680
    Location:
    About 8 meters beneath sea level.
    Absolutely loving the game so far. Nice world, quests, combat and all. No bugs, just some crashes...though the alt tab ignore thingie seems to work.
     
    ^ Top  
  10. FrancoTAU Cipher

    FrancoTAU
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Nice, thanks dude. I'll be playing this one all week.
     
    ^ Top  
  11. Platypus Novice

    Platypus
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    I bought this when it first came out and am a big fan. I'm enjoying the new version, but I have memory leak and random freezing issues as well. I hope the "one original party member out of HP = game over" is a bug (maybe it was only intended for the first cutscene?) Hopefully these issues will be rectified.
     
    ^ Top  
  12. Hazelnut Erudite

    Hazelnut
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,490
    Location:
    UK
    Anywhere else I can get this file without registering with megaupload.com?? Anyone prepared to mirror?
     
    ^ Top  
  13. Hazelnut Erudite

    Hazelnut
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,490
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks dude. I look forward to giving it a spin - as soon as I can tear myself away from Lazarus that is. ;)
     
    ^ Top  
  14. LCJr. Erudite

    LCJr.
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,469
    Delete it from your HDD. That's the only way I've found to avoid the bugs.

    The older versions didn't run for me on Win2K Pro and this one is no different. Glad I didn't buy into their claims that it would/or would be made to work on W2K when it was still for sale.

    It's been massively unstable for me. Even tried running under Win98 compatibility mode with no luck. I don't think I've even been able to go 30 minutes without a crash, usually about every 10-15 minutes it CTD's. Doing anything or nothing results in CTD's with no clear pattern to them. In all seriousness I've never seen a piece of software this unstable.
     
    ^ Top  
  15. Hazelnut Erudite

    Hazelnut
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,490
    Location:
    UK
    Well I still use Windows 98 so hopefully I'll be okay... ;-)
     
    ^ Top  
  16. xeno Novice

    xeno
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Hey I have a reputation problem...is it possible that when you steal and they say "Hey stop that!" you lose reputation :?: If so, is it alot? :S I wonder if I'll be able to recover from those losses :(
     
    ^ Top  
  17. Temoid Scholar

    Temoid
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    My cursor zips around at lightspeed on the screen, but scrolling is painfully slow. And so is clicking any buttons, because it takes a good 4-5 seconds to home in on them with the ungodly scroll.
     
    ^ Top  
  18. Azael Magister

    Azael
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,402
    Location:
    Multikult Central South
    Wasteland 2
    Can't recall that the game was this unstable last time I played it, I'm getting a lot of crashes, without warning, at any point of the game. I really want to play this game again, but so far it's more frustrating than entertaining.
     
    ^ Top  
  19. Naked_Lunch Erudite

    Naked_Lunch
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,360
    Location:
    Norway, 1967
    After a very crash prone beginning, it's starting to stabilize for me. It used to crash very often, but now it barely does it all except for the rare debug error or whatever (and that's not really a crash, as you can still continue playing). Even so, I have it autosave evey minute just to be safe.
     
    ^ Top  
  20. Jon Scholar

    Jon
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Enjoying this alot. Thanks for posting it and to the developers for releasing it as a freebie.

    Does seem to be a memory leak though, the game crashes fairly quickly if I run around the map alot.
     
    ^ Top  
  21. Slylandro Scholar

    Slylandro
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    The game's pretty unforgiving to me. It crashes every half hour or so and it's not a clean crash either. I really want to enjoy this game but it's quite frustrating. Presumably it will be patched (again) at some point. Is there some place we should be sending bug descriptions for the game?
     
    ^ Top  
  22. Naked_Lunch Erudite

    Naked_Lunch
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,360
    Location:
    Norway, 1967
    You could try emailing CP. I think his email is on the website.
     
    ^ Top  
  23. Mefi Cipher

    Mefi
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    waiting for a train at Perdido Street Station
    Anyone got a solution to this problem? Looks like a fantastic indie title but my mouse cursor is like Bambi on ice.
     
    ^ Top  
  24. Slylandro Scholar

    Slylandro
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Hmmm I found a solution (sort of) to my problem. In case anyone else is experiencing random freezes every 20 minutes or so in Prelude of Darkness (particularly when you've walked a great distance or just started a battle), it seems all you have to do is just save the game (for example to Slot A) and then immediately reload from that every now and then. I've been doing that today once every 10 minutes and the game's running fine. Maybe it's just luck; I'll see if this keeps up. If it doesn't work, I guess the worst case scenario is that I quit the game once every 10 minutes pre-emptively. It takes almost no time to load on my system anyway. I think whoever suggested that there were memory leaks nailed the problem.
     
    ^ Top  

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.