Official RPG Codex Discord Server

  1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

Icewind Dale 2 resolution and "fixes" questions...

Discussion in 'General RPG Discussion' started by aweigh, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. aweigh Arcane

    aweigh
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358
    Location:
    Florida
    What would be the best way to embiggen IWD2?

    I was reading something about how I should use DxWnd program and have it render the game at 2x integer scale resolution and then throw that into a borderless full-screen, but then in the very same thread I was reading that I should use instead the widescreen mod and just use 720p instead, that the widescreen mod produced better results than DxWnd (less "sharp" but also less blurry or something or other).

    Aside from that: what mods are mandatory, if any? I installed the Unlimited Stacking parts of the Fixes Collection mod, skipping everything else for now since I don't know how retarded (or non-retarded) the variety of options may have been.

    EDIT: Obviously I'm on a 16:9 monitor.
     
    • it is a mystery it is a mystery x 1
    ^ Top  
  2. oldmanpaco Master of Siestas

    oldmanpaco
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,291
    Location:
    Summer
    I've only ever used the widescreen mod and it worked fine. IWD2 doesn't require (or even have) many mods that make it better. It is what it is.

    edit: Also wrong forum.
     
    ^ Top  
  3. Ventidius Savant

    Ventidius
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Yep, the widescreen mod is a must. Also worth mentioning is Aqrit's ddwrapper: http://bitpatch.com/ddwrapper.html

    It is highly customizable and allows you to deal with various known issues like cursor flickering. Also, as in all IE games, crank those fps up to 60.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2018
    ^ Top  
  4. Lyric Suite Converting to Islam

    Lyric Suite
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    48,374
    This seems to work straight out of the box, but still doesn't fix the messed up fog of war. What options should i use for that?
     
    ^ Top  
  5. DalekFlay Arcane Patron

    DalekFlay
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14,118
    Location:
    New Vegas
    If you have the mods render at a lower res than your monitor I highly recommend setting your GPU to do the scaling. Most computer monitors have ass-tastic resolution scaling, last I checked.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    ^ Top  
  6. Raghar Arcane

    Raghar
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,548
    Set monitor to keep aspect ratio, and rest of it handles GFX card. And don't forget to set compatibility mode for XP.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • :M :M x 1
    ^ Top  
  7. Ventidius Savant

    Ventidius
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    This. Also, try switching "BltMirror" from 0 to 1 in the aqrit config.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    ^ Top  
  8. Lyric Suite Converting to Islam

    Lyric Suite
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    48,374
    I got rid of the fucked up fog by setting ForceDirectDrawEmulation to 1. Works fine now, but scrolling is woobly. I tried fiddling with the vsync settings but nothing. Guess this is the best that can be done. Can't believe how broken this game is on modern systems compared to the original.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
    ^ Top  
  9. rusty_shackleford Arcane

    rusty_shackleford
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    33,559
  10. Ventidius Savant

    Ventidius
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Yeah, it really is a shame. Still, perhaps the user ghostdog knows of a fix to the issue.
     
    ^ Top  
  11. Raghar Arcane

    Raghar
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,548
    [​IMG]
    These are W10 settings.

    [​IMG]

    And this is configuration utility. It has decent performance.
     
    ^ Top  
  12. ghostdog Prestigious Gentleman Arcane Patron

    ghostdog
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10,643
    When I played IWD2 recently I used
    -IWD2FIXPACK
    -widescreen mod
    -IWD2 widescreen GUI Fix

    and then launched the game with dxwnd to bypass ddraw problems and play in borderless fullscreen. Oh, I also made a bigger font mod.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [EDIT] here are the game configs (maybe it will help those that have trouble)
    Show Spoiler

    [​IMG]


    I've uploaded the fonts and my dxwnd settings for anyone who wants them:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
    • Brofist x 11
    • Prestigious x 3
    • incline x 2
    • Goldfist x 1
    • Informative x 1
    ^ Top  
  13. Lyric Suite Converting to Islam

    Lyric Suite
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    48,374
    When i use dxwnd i can't use the widescreen mod. Game crashes right at launch.
     
    ^ Top  
  14. Rahdulan Arcane Patron

    Rahdulan
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,606
    Well, you just got me to buy IWD2 on GOG. Accessibility truly is king of sales.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    • incline incline x 1
    ^ Top  
  15. Curratum Magister

    Curratum
    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,912
    So, I'm on a 1920 x 1080 monitor. Using the widescreen patch and UI fix for that resolution results in half-inch characters and text that I need a magnifying glass to read.

    What do I do? It's decidedly unplayable when that zoomed out and I can't really play at 1024 x 768 stretched to a widescreen 24 inch monitor either.
     
    ^ Top  
  16. DalekFlay Arcane Patron

    DalekFlay
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14,118
    Location:
    New Vegas
    Your options are native res with everything being small or setting a non-native res that works better like 720p but having it be blurry because PCs suck at scaling non-native resolutions. It's kind of a pick your poison deal, there's no clear winner.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  17. newtmonkey Arcane

    newtmonkey
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Kobold Caves
    Sadly, ID2 doesn't support 640x480, otherwise you could use an integer window scalar to scale it 2x to a 1280x960 borderless window centered in your screen (looks great for Baldur's Gate 1&2, Icewind Dale 1, and Fallout 1&2). I think the best choice for this is to just use the widescreen mod but keep it at an equivalent widescreen resolution close to 800x600 to avoid having everyone looking like ants.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  18. Curratum Magister

    Curratum
    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,912
    Thanks, guys! I'll try 1360 x 768, should look passable and a happy medium between stretching to blurry native and everything being tiny.

    Edit: This is perfect! Font is just the right size, everything looks great, more or less zoomed in to the point where IE Enhanced Editions are, not too tiny, but with a big viewable area.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  19. DalekFlay Arcane Patron

    DalekFlay
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14,118
    Location:
    New Vegas
    Yeah I played Fallout 1 and 2 at 720p basically and I think it's the perfect size for these types of games. It's just a shame it looks blurry on a 1080p monitor, but oh wells. It's the best of the flawed options.
     
    ^ Top  
  20. Curratum Magister

    Curratum
    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,912
    1360 x 768 looks pretty damn fine, there is no obvious blurring to my eyes.
     
    ^ Top  
  21. Lyric Suite Converting to Islam

    Lyric Suite
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    48,374
    Does the scrolling wobble? I can't seem to be able to get rid of that.
     
    ^ Top  
  22. newtmonkey Arcane

    newtmonkey
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Kobold Caves
    Addition:

    The Lossless Scaling app on Steam actually has a 1.5X scale option for 800x600 games. This gets you a 1,200x900 borderless window in the middle of your screen. I tested it with Icewind Dale 1/2 and Arcanum and it works, but it's not ideal because it's not an integer. Still, it's another option. You can apply AA within the app to improve things somewhat, but then you're getting into Enhanced Edition blurry filtering territory. Icewind Dale 1 looks MUCH better running at 640x480 with a 2X scale.
     
    ^ Top  
  23. Sigourn Futa Lover

    Sigourn
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Greater Buenos Aires, Argentina.
    I play games in windowed mode, vanilla resolution. It strains the eyes after a while, but then again I never play cRPGs for long (over 2 hours) periods of time, so it never gets annoying. Plus drawing my monitor forwards helps.

    ghostdog I've had issues with Baldur's Gate 2's 3D Acceleration setting being buggy on my computer, especifically with weird "grids" being drawn over the menues for instance. Is there any way for me to fix this? Disabling 3D Acceleration sucks because the fog of war and spells end up looking shittier.
     
    • decline decline x 1
    ^ Top  
  24. ghostdog Prestigious Gentleman Arcane Patron

    ghostdog
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10,643
    The dxwnd tool mentioned above will probably fix this. You could also try this ddraw fix.
     
    ^ Top  

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.