Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

KickStarter Infinity (GBC RPG)

MRY

Wormwood Studios
Developer

As I posted about in 2016, back in 1999 (when I was a sophomore in college), I got hired for my first commercial game work, writing the story for a game called Infinity by a development team called Affinix. The process of getting hired was surreal -- the guy (M.R. -- not sure folks want their full names included) financing the project was like one of these early internet millionaires, not like a billionaire or even close, but he had made a bunch of money cracking SEO on Altavista (!). Anyway, a young backend coder for him named J.K. had made a TI-82 RPG called Joltima, and was working on a GBC RPG called Infinity with a Japanese friend he knew from high school (H.O). H.O.'s brother, incidentally, was one of the original fan translators of Final Fantasy 5. Seeing J.K. screwing around on it after work one day, M.R. decides to fund the project, and they had hire an artist, a writer, and a composer. The composer was someone I'd collaborated with on a failed jRPG project in high school. When their writer flaked, he proposed that they hire me. So I drove out to the strip mall M.R. operated out of for an interview. Among oth