Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Gothic The key to Gothic 3?

So I've been shitting on Gothic 3 since 2006, when it first did bad things to me. Obviously there is much that is wrong with this Piranha Bytes game, but I've never been able to get deep enough into it to see most of that, because 2 things always stopped me cold in my tracks. One was technical issues: those of you who bought it back in 2006 remember the kind of loading issues the game had. That has been pretty much negated with modern hardware and/or patches.

The other major thing was combat. I always felt like Gothic 1 and 2 (and Risen) did really awesome things with combat for their time. But in Gothic 3 the combat was utter shit. Not only were the improved animations with skill gain gone, but even the default animations looked like a drunk guy trying to cut through a net with a rolling pin. Everything was slow and clunky, gone were the timed blocks and cool combos of G1/2, and most of combat seemed relegated to button spam and stunlocks.