Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Sid makes a FPS from scratch in 48 hours

ever

Scholar
SCO said:
You must be some kind of super coder. I've been making a graphical interface for two years and i'm still finding bugs and ways to avoid them.

Hmm, I' m nota super coder, I didn't create crysis or anything just something like doom. This is what I accomplished in five days with no prior coding experience:

a)Managed to get a defined line segment face with a height variable in the struct drawn by means of ray casting
b)This came with things like a camera rotation of the camera movement of the camera etc.
c)Store all my line segment faces (I called them sides) in a binary space partioning tree (this was the grand daddy it allowed for z-ordering and some backface culling)
d)Draw the bsp with zero chance of error
e)some kind of crappy lighting algorithm where I mess around with the RGB values just based on how far away the camera is from the side being drawn.
f)collision detection using the bsp tree

That is all. No bugs anymore either. If I ever get more free time when I am not running my business I plan to play around with some voxels and A.I on the non geometric side of things.

Code: