Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Different terms for game design

Servo

Arcane
This may be an extremely newbish question but we've already established that I'm a newb so here goes:

Game design is a loaded word, like game mechanics or game systems. But what is game design exactly? Is there an approximate term that most can agree on?

More specifically, I hear these phrases thrown around but I'm not sure what the differences are: encounter design, quest design, area design, world design... there are probably more.

If there's already a thread about this that I haven't been able to find and someone could just point me to it, that would be fine. Or we could rehash the discussion.

Servo

Arcane
I'll take a stab at answering my own question and then someone else can correct me.

Encounter design: Comes from PnP games, where a single session usually contains one main quest with several battles. Each battle is an encounter, and the DM has to carefully design the encounters to be challenging, interesting, but ultimately possible for the party to overcome. Of the little DnD I've played, combat is less than half of the game so it makes sense to describe it this way.