Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

goldchest

sproket

Novice
Hi All,

I've been lurking here for some time. Finally have the guts to post something.

:roll:

I've been working for several months on a new open source game.

The game I'm writing is inspired by the old goldbox styled games. My goal is to create a game with the same Look and Feel of the goldbox games while bringing to it newer graphics, sounds, music and network play.

So where am I now?

• Basic game layout implemented
• 3D perspective view and movement
• Overhead view for maps
• Overhead view for combat with characters and monsters and movement
• Scriptable events engine
• 45 degree movement

Game maps use a simple text file definition which allows for various wall, ceiling, floor, sky, shape textures and even 3d models to be displayed.

You can check my web site and see some screen shots.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/goldchest/

I'm looking for some feedback. What do you guys think?

Self-Ejected

Kosmonaut

Lost in Space
Looks cool, do you have some kind of design documents? or examples of how did you designed the text format to store map information?

Nice. I'm working on something similar.