Official Codex Discord Server

  1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

Masterwork Weapons and Armors/Shields

Discussion in 'Chaos Chronicles' started by Maerimydra, May 5, 2013.

  1. Maerimydra Literate

    Maerimydra
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Any chances of seeing them in the game? Will characters without Shield Proeficiency be able to equip masterwork buckler without penalty, since the Armor Check Penalty of a maserwork buckler is -0? Same thing for masterwork studded leather.
     
    ^ Top  
  2. Rpguy Arcane Patron

    Rpguy
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,158
    Pathfinder: Kingmaker
    You would still get the penalty for attack rolls and the arcane spell failure whether it's masterwork or not.
     
    ^ Top  
  3. Ferdator Developer

    Ferdator
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Most of our weapons and armors do have a masterwork version to it.
    Your characters can use any item without being proficient but take the usual penalties. If your armor has no armor check penalty proficiency wont make any difference.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  4. Maerimydra Literate

    Maerimydra
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Awesome! The more I hear about this game, the more I am excited! :D

    If the Armor Check Penalty is zero, you get a penalty of zero on attack rolls (so, not really a penalty). If you're attacking with a two-handed weapon, or an off-hand weapon, while using a buckler, you get an extra -1 penalty on your attack roll (which stacks with your ACP if you're not proeficient with the shield/armor) and you lose your shield bonus to AC. That's why every Rogues that are not fighting with two weapons or a two-handed weapon should equip a masterwork or magic buckler. However, you are right about Arcane Spell Failure : it still remains even if the item is materwork.
     
    ^ Top  

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.