Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

What Defines the RPG Genre?

derill

Novice
I'm just getting into the RPG scene, and have been reading about what games define the genre. Some say anything with the infinity engine, some say diablo and its ilk-born clones, some say every rpg born before the 90's, some say roguelikes, some say jrpgs, and the list goes on ( mmorpgs, muds, etc ). What game defines the RPG genre to you, and why?

I'm merely asking to get a real feel for the genre. I missed out on the D&D games of my high school peers, and when I tried afterwards, I found that I was too nervous to speak in front of people ( I have social anxiety ), and then tried some MUDs. After that, I played through Planescape, Baldur's Gate 1 & 2 + expansion, Neverwinter Nights, Dark Sun ( both Shattered Lands and Wake of the Ravager ), WoW. What else could I try? I've read about Arcanum, but is it worth sludging past the bugs?

I mean, anything on the Inifinity engine gives me a helluva fight with random stuttering and lags every so often, and I think it's due to Vista. Most good RPG games were released before Vista, and it causes some issues.