Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Baldur's Gate II autopause

Saxon1974

Prophet
I started playing this again, for some reason I never finished it when it came out ten years ago. I like it, but I have alot of irritation with the confusion in combat.

Question;

What's the best use of the autopause feature to make it work the closest to turn based for combat?

I tried selecting everything but it doesn't really make it turn based, it just basically makes you push the space bar alot more.

Im thinking maybe using only these 2 options;

1) On an enemy death
and
2) When a spell is cast?

Not sure im gonna use it, because it doesn't seem to work very well. Thoughts?

Hory

Erudite
Saxon1974 said:
1) On an enemy death
and
2) When a spell is cast?
I'm not sure what other options it had, but I definately wouldn't use it for those two things. Just pause yourself when you need to give multiple orders at once...

cardtrick

Arbiter
Closest to turn-based is definitely the "pause at the end of each round" option. Probably only worth dealing with that if you are playing ironman, though.