Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

ph@t loot and epic levels

ownedfool

Novice
Since I am only a novice as far as RPGs are concerned, I have a question for you veterans - you know, you people that learned how to roleplay whilst still in diapers:

I read Volourn's review of HotU and I saw the complaint about all the ph@t lewt and also some other posters' complaints about epic levels in general and I have a few remarks.

As I understand it, a well balanced campaign is one where the adventurer and the monsters he is facing, are of about the same level with some of the bosses maybe a level or 2 higher. So, the adventurer will have to plan his attacks to take out a few monsters and he would probably need a decent weapon to take out a boss.

My questions are:

Why does it matter if the campaign you are playing allows for epic levels and weapons like a Greatsword + 10, if the monsters you are facing are of about the same level and the bosses a bit harder?

Volourn even mentioned that some of the fights were really difficult, so why then does he complain that he has a +10 weapon, but still find some of the fights hard?