Official RPG Codex Discord Server

  1. Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.
    Dismiss Notice

Ad Banners - About & Problem Reports

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by Taluntain, Mar 4, 2006.

  1. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    So this is the same as before, the Close link doesn't work? What about tapping outside of the ad box?
     
    ^ Top  
  2. Tinkerer Novice

    Tinkerer
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Indeed. Just tried again to make sure and got again another one after cancelling the Tapatalk pop-up ad:
    Code:
    http://ah1.en.gunship3d.com-get-your-lucky-gadget.tech/h1-v379-en-c/index.html?isp=<ISP-Name>&model=iPod%20Touch&<IP-ADDRESS>&voluumdata=BASE64dmlkLi4wMDAwMDAwMi00ZjZiLTQxNjAtODAwMC0wMDAwMDAwMDAwMDBfX3ZwaWQuLmFhNzY3ODAwLWNjNjYtMTFlNi04OGQzLTg4MTAwNzIwOTEyMF9fY2FpZC4uYjMwZmFjZGYtZWRiMC00NGY2LWJlOTctYTU3NjNiMjc1N2U2X19ydC4uRF9fbGlkLi5iNWIwMThjMy1kMzkwLTQ1YjktODg5OC02MjJiMWQwNzBjYWNfX29pZDEuLjlkYmJjYzNhLTdiNTMtNGZlNy1hMmNiLTk5MzlmMDBiNGQ0Ml9fdmFyMS4uMTMwMTYzMTk2X192YXIyLi5ycGdjb2RleFwuXGNvbV9fcmQuLl9fYWlkLi5fX2FiLi5fX3NpZC4u&siteid=130163196&sitedomain=rpgcodex.com&clickid=wCJAHB4IGPIQPJ42142L7VAV
    What happens is that the pop-up ad shows with the RPGCodex forum in the background, and as soon as you click "close" it shows the ad website instead. FWIW, I had just cleaned all website data (cookies, cache, local storage) before this last attempt and went straight to the Larian forum (via the browser history). Afterwards, these were the domains for which data was stored:
    • bonus-gifts.website
    • wholeallow.website
    • rogcodex.net
    • yabidos.com
    • smaato.net
    • ajax.googleapis.com
    • cpmstar.com
    • exponential.com
    • q1mediahydraplatform.com
    • viglink.com
    • adstuna.com
    • cpx.to
    • tribalfusion.com
    • sorcerers.net
    • bootstrapcdn.com
    • com-get-your-lucky-gadget.tech
    • criteo.com
    • google-analytics.com

    Quite a catch!
     
    • cuck cuck x 1
    ^ Top  
  3. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    That doesn't actually help as it lists every site involved in the process in any way (related to the ads or not), but yeah. Did you try tapping outside of the ad box?

    Anyway, I'm going to check with the other advertising provider that I suspect this could be coming from.
     
    ^ Top  
  4. Tinkerer Novice

    Tinkerer
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I think I did and that it didn't do anything. I can't get the ad to appear right now though, so I can't verify.
     
    ^ Top  
  5. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    I've reported it yesterday but no response so far, hopefully we'll get it sorted out.
     
    ^ Top  
  6. ghostdog Prestigious Gentleman Arcane Patron

    ghostdog
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10,518
    There's this add that in my phone takes up basically the whole post area, squeezing the text to a thin vertical layer. Shouldnt it be above or below the text? It happens at the first post in the page and makes them unreadable.

    EDIT:BTW this happens only in landscape mode


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
    ^ Top  
  7. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    The code's actually the same for desktops and mobiles there; the ads are right-aligned to the text which works fine for desktops. But it can look off on mobiles where the space is limited and would also depend on how your browser handles it etc. I'll check if we can just push the text below the ad for mobiles.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    ^ Top  
  8. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    I think that should be it, all the ad banner spots should be responsive now. Everyone with a mobile, check and screenshot if you spot any issues.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  9. ghostdog Prestigious Gentleman Arcane Patron

    ghostdog
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10,518
    Yep, it works fine now.

    :thumbsup:
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
    ^ Top  
  10. Anubioz Novice

    Anubioz
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Site virtually unsuable please fix[​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 1
    ^ Top  
  11. Valky Arcane Manlet

    Valky
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    Trapped in a bioform
    Ban all advertisements of casual games. I saw a minecraft advertisement recently.
     
    ^ Top  
  12.  
    • Edgy Edgy x 1
    • No No x 1
    ^ Top  
  13. Shatterbrain Novice

    Shatterbrain
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Floated banner ad footer fucks up pinch zoom on mobile. When it becomes visible again after you let go, the screen snaps back to the ads width.
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    ^ Top  
  14. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
  15. Shatterbrain Novice

    Shatterbrain
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    I could, but then I'd have to risk clicking it every time I changed pages. Of course, that's probably the idea.
    :stabbedintheback:
     
    ^ Top  
  16. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Well no, any kind of ads like that are normally cookied to show only once every X hours. If you're blocking cookies/preventing scripts from running or something like that though, then you're preventing it from working properly.
     
    ^ Top  
  17. unfairlight Self-Ejected

    Self-Ejected
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4,092
    I don't know if you have the data but if I hypothetically were to browse this site every other day for a year without an adblocker how much would I bring in?
     
    ^ Top  
  18. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    That's really impossible to determine with any degree of accuracy as it would also depend on the number of pages viewed in that time, whether it was site or forum pages, the geographical location of the user, higher/lower paying ad campaigns etc. The ad-free donation options are what we're going with with relatively inexpensive $25 for a year of ad-free access, which gets progressively cheaper the more years you add.
     
    ^ Top  
  19. unfairlight Self-Ejected

    Self-Ejected
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4,092
    Kinda the answer I expected. I'll probably donate 10 bucks some time in the future and keep adblocking.
     
    ^ Top  
  20. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Still better than just blocking ads.
     
    ^ Top  
  21. mushaden Scholar

    mushaden
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Been having problem for a while now—the forums only load on my phone. Tried three browsers on my pc but nothing works, also tried deleting cookies. I can get the twitter sidebar and ads but not much else
     
    ^ Top  
  22. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    The twitter sidebar is on the site pages, not the forums? Which browser?
     
    ^ Top  
  23. mushaden Scholar

    mushaden
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    I meant the forum sidebar above the twitter sidebar doesn’t load. The actual forums don’t load right either. Browsers are opera, ie, and firefox
     
    ^ Top  
  24. Taluntain Most Frabjous

    Taluntain
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,218
    Location:
    Your Mind
    That doesn't make any sense. Do you have any addons like noscript or adblockers or whatever installed? Try accessing the forums with them disabled.
     
    • Makes you think... Makes you think... x 1
    ^ Top  
  25. mushaden Scholar

    mushaden
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    • Brofist Brofist x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    ^ Top  

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.