Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
News Content Gallery About Donate Discord Contact
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Divinity Divinity: Original Sin 2 - Definitive Edition

MWaser

Arbiter
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
564
Location
Where you won't find me
Randomly discovered this basement, signed up just to laugh at all the people ITT who got brutally filtered by DOS2 ever since 2017. Touch grass at least once a week, it will be easier to cope with the fact that you're a brainlet with shit taste. I recommend BG1, BG2, and Breath of the Wild as your next games of choice.

:hero:
WKVS8ga.png
 

Jarmaro

Liturgist
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
1,252
Location
Lair of Despair
So, how much has D:OS 2 improved since the release? I remember it having a lot of problems and inbalanced when I first played it back then, and quit at the start of the second act.
 

Tavernking

Don't believe his lies
Patron
Developer
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
965
Location
Australia
Very fun co-op game, currently playing it with my partner (splitscreen couch co-op on PS4, I've already finished it on PC). Constantly talking with each other, making plans, showing each other cool/funny things we find. I wish Pillars or Pathfinder games were co-op.
 

Lacrymas

Arcane
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
15,856
Pathfinder: Kingmaker
Very fun co-op game, currently playing it with my partner (splitscreen couch co-op on PS4, I've already finished it on PC). Constantly talking with each other, making plans, showing each other cool/funny things we find. I wish Pillars or Pathfinder games were co-op.
Play Gloomhaven together instead.
 
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,638
Location
The Present
I've started this back up again.

I greatly enjoyed a party of 4 mages in DOS1, which I'd like to do again. Last time I had each caster focus in two elements + witchcraft. With the way skills work in DOS2, I'm thinking about making everyone in my party generalize in all 4 elements + necro. Basically 3 points in each INT skill. Is that going to be viable or will all of my spells just fall flat?
 

KateMicucci

Magister
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
1,208
I've started this back up again.

I greatly enjoyed a party of 4 mages in DOS1, which I'd like to do again. Last time I had each caster focus in two elements + witchcraft. With the way skills work in DOS2, I'm thinking about making everyone in my party generalize in all 4 elements + necro. Basically 3 points in each INT skill. Is that going to be viable or will all of my spells just fall flat?
That will work fine.

Starting in 2nd act you have unlimited respecs anyway.
 
Last edited:

Blutwurstritter

Learned
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
361
Location
Germany
I've started this back up again.

I greatly enjoyed a party of 4 mages in DOS1, which I'd like to do again. Last time I had each caster focus in two elements + witchcraft. With the way skills work in DOS2, I'm thinking about making everyone in my party generalize in all 4 elements + necro. Basically 3 points in each INT skill. Is that going to be viable or will all of my spells just fall flat?
Spreading it out completely evenly might not be the best decision. The Summoning skill for example benefits a lot from getting it to 10 since the Incarnate gets a massive buff then. It also harmonizes well with necromancer since the Summoning skill buffs all summons like the bone widow. A geomancer can make a good physical tank due to a bonus to physical armor that comes with the skill. This mixes well with a physical sword and board tank that uses shield throw and reactive armor. In D:OS 2 you also have a limit for active skills that are available during combat based on your memory skill value, so you might want fewer but more powerful spells instead of many weaker ones that you can't equip at once. But the game allows you to respec freely after some progress, so you can experiment with the system. I recommend looking at the passive boni that the skills provide, it adds some interesting options.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
7,250
Location
Italy
restarted it, with divinity unleashed so that i don't have to have 4 melees to be able to use crowd control (the vanilla armors system is retarded, no arguing here) and finally it feels decent, playable, with many more viable builds and party compositions. shame only 4 members is just so limiting.
i picked the undead, the lizard and the possessed woman because they felt those with the most interesting stories, but i lack an elf for flesh feeding (totally forgot it was a thing). who should i ditch? no spoilers please.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
42,719
i picked the undead, the lizard and the possessed woman because they felt those with the most interesting stories, but i lack an elf for flesh feeding (totally forgot it was a thing). who should i ditch?
eat flesh with the undead while in elf form
 

Perkel

Arcane
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
14,037
The fun part about armor system in DS2 is that when people first criticized it Swen defended it and then months after release he said yeah it was pretty shit.
 

Fluent

Erudite
Patron
The Real Fanboy
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
769
Hey guys, I have an issue. Trying to play this game, and thus far the only way i get it to load my saves is to restart my PC each time i want to load a save. Basically, anytime after that when i try to load a save, the save loading bar doesn't budge an inch, just sits there endlessly. However, if i restart, the game loads in slower (so that's how i know my save is going to work), and when it loads in slower to get to the main menu, my loading of a save works. But it only works once, because each time after that that i exit the game and load it back up, it loads very quickly to the main menu, and then saves don't work again. Any idea what the heck is causing this? I've tried a ton of different suggestions from google searching but nothing seems to help other than restart my PC EVERY time i want to load and play the game. any other ideas?
 

Darth Canoli

Arcane
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
5,280
Location
Perched on a tree
Hey guys, I have an issue. Trying to play this game, and thus far the only way i get it to load my saves is to restart my PC each time i want to load a save. Basically, anytime after that when i try to load a save, the save loading bar doesn't budge an inch, just sits there endlessly. However, if i restart, the game loads in slower (so that's how i know my save is going to work), and when it loads in slower to get to the main menu, my loading of a save works. But it only works once, because each time after that that i exit the game and load it back up, it loads very quickly to the main menu, and then saves don't work again. Any idea what the heck is causing this? I've tried a ton of different suggestions from google searching but nothing seems to help other than restart my PC EVERY time i want to load and play the game. any other ideas?

Yes!
It's a fail safe in case some people still want to play after quitting the game and you're the first one to do so...

Congratulations but you shouldn't do this to yourself!
 

Roguey

Codex Staff
Sawyerite
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
31,496
Hey guys, I have an issue. Trying to play this game, and thus far the only way i get it to load my saves is to restart my PC each time i want to load a save. Basically, anytime after that when i try to load a save, the save loading bar doesn't budge an inch, just sits there endlessly. However, if i restart, the game loads in slower (so that's how i know my save is going to work), and when it loads in slower to get to the main menu, my loading of a save works. But it only works once, because each time after that that i exit the game and load it back up, it loads very quickly to the main menu, and then saves don't work again. Any idea what the heck is causing this? I've tried a ton of different suggestions from google searching but nothing seems to help other than restart my PC EVERY time i want to load and play the game. any other ideas?
If you're using Steam, verify the integrity of the game files. If GOG, try uninstalling and reinstalling and if it still isn't fixed, redownloading or using GOG Galaxy to verify/repair because that's just bizarre.
 

Fluent

Erudite
Patron
The Real Fanboy
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
769
It's not letting me start a new game or load a save now. Just flat out won't work. Bizarre. Contacted Larian support so hopefully something happens there. Thanks for the responses!
 

SoupNazi

rial billionaire
Patron
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
5,097
Location
DX:HR Fanboy Central
Strap Yourselves In Serpent in the Staglands
It's not letting me start a new game or load a save now. Just flat out won't work. Bizarre. Contacted Larian support so hopefully something happens there. Thanks for the responses!
Long shot, but maybe something to do with admin permissions? Run the game as admin?

Or even longer short, do you have space on the drive? :lol:
 

Fluent

Erudite
Patron
The Real Fanboy
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
769
Long shot, but maybe something to do with admin permissions? Run the game as admin?

Or even longer short, do you have space on the drive? :lol:

Thanks but I tried running as admin and all that. Out of curiousity though, how much space on the drive is needed to run the game? I mean it's installed fine but there's not a ton of space left on the drive. Could that be what's causing it perhaps?
 

SoupNazi

rial billionaire
Patron
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
5,097
Location
DX:HR Fanboy Central
Strap Yourselves In Serpent in the Staglands
Long shot, but maybe something to do with admin permissions? Run the game as admin?

Or even longer short, do you have space on the drive? :lol:

Thanks but I tried running as admin and all that. Out of curiousity though, how much space on the drive is needed to run the game? I mean it's installed fine but there's not a ton of space left on the drive. Could that be what's causing it perhaps?
No clue to be perfectly honest, it's been a long time since I played last, but I remember there was some bloat. Not Pathfinder levels of it, but maybe 50 MB in the later chapters or something. Which isn't much but if you have 50 different savegames, it might be an issue.

I've personally never had it, was just shooting ideas in the dark.
 

Fluent

Erudite
Patron
The Real Fanboy
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
769
Well thanks anyway SoupNazi , appreciate u trying to help. Nothing gives though, I freed up more space both on my C and D drives and still, it worked ONE time just now to start a new game when I restarted my PC. Then I exited the game and tried again and, nothing. So strange. Guess I just have to play on my laptop with much inferior settings.
 

BruceVC

Magister
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,516
Location
South Africa, Cape Town
Well thanks anyway SoupNazi , appreciate u trying to help. Nothing gives though, I freed up more space both on my C and D drives and still, it worked ONE time just now to start a new game when I restarted my PC. Then I exited the game and tried again and, nothing. So strange. Guess I just have to play on my laptop with much inferior settings.
Hi Fluent " waves "

Have you defragmented your disk drive and or optimized it ?
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...ws-10-pc-048aefac-7f1f-4632-d48a-9700c4ec702a

If that makes no difference Run windows in Safe Mode with Network support and then see if it works consistently. If it does work then its more than likely not software\driver related and its hardware. Then we can assist with further troubleshooting


https://support.eset.com/en/kb2268-...ndows will start in Safe Mode with Networking.
 

Fluent

Erudite
Patron
The Real Fanboy
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
769
I'll give it a shot a bit later. Going to play on my laptop and record my footage there for now. I had to turn the settings to Low but it should record at a respectable framerate now. Best I got at the moment. :) Thanks to all for trying to help. I'll keep tinkering with it here and there and see if i can somehow fix it. Larian just quoted a forum post i had already read and tried so, maybe the safe mode thing will work.
 

ERYFKRAD

Barbarian
Patron
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
23,938
Strap Yourselves In Serpent in the Staglands Shadorwun: Hong Kong Pillars of Eternity 2: Deadfire Pathfinder: Kingmaker
I'll give it a shot a bit later. Going to play on my laptop and record my footage there for now. I had to turn the settings to Low but it should record at a respectable framerate now. Best I got at the moment. :) Thanks to all for trying to help. I'll keep tinkering with it here and there and see if i can somehow fix it. Larian just quoted a forum post i had already read and tried so, maybe the safe mode thing will work.
Try formatting your c drive.
 

Sykar

Arcane
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
10,318
Location
Turn right after Alpha Centauri
I'll give it a shot a bit later. Going to play on my laptop and record my footage there for now. I had to turn the settings to Low but it should record at a respectable framerate now. Best I got at the moment. :) Thanks to all for trying to help. I'll keep tinkering with it here and there and see if i can somehow fix it. Larian just quoted a forum post i had already read and tried so, maybe the safe mode thing will work.
Try formatting your c drive.

Magnets do wonders for that if it is not a SSD.
:popcorn:
 

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.
Top Bottom