Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
News Content Gallery About Donate Discord Contact
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Unofficial patches for Thief and other PC games

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
BROs, I've been TESTING Sacrifice under Win7 x64 and encountered errors with graphics, mostly blocky and jaggy black shadows under trees and general jaggeyness when turning around.
Info in thaum.err fille made me believe these were D3D - related (Z-buffer?):

Code:
Sacrifice build 0678, May 21 2001

3D_D3D: Enumerating DirectDraw devices
3D_D3D: Found display device : display : Primary Display Driver
3D_D3D: Enumerating 3D devices for display
3D_D3D: Unusable 3D device : RGB Emulation : Microsoft Direct3D RGB Software Emulation
3D_D3D: Reason:
3D_D3D: No hardware rasterization
3D_D3D: Found 3D device : Direct3D HAL : Microsoft Direct3D Hardware acceleration through Direct3D HAL
3D_D3D: Found 3D device : Direct3D T&L HAL : Microsoft Direct3D Hardware Transform and Lighting acceleration capable device
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D sound provider supports max 64 samples
Loading
Changing to screen mode 1280x960x32bpp
DirectX error in CreateSurface Z: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateSurface Z: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateBuffers: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateBuffers: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
Cannot set screen mode 1280x960x32bpp
Disabling triple buffering and retrying
DirectX error in CreateSurface Z: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateSurface Z: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateBuffers: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
DirectX error in CreateBuffers: DDERR_UNSUPPORTED
Cannot set screen mode 1280x960x32bpp
Moving to 16bpp and retrying
Screen mode is 1280x960x16bpp
Entered exit code
Normal exit
uify7sO.png


So, it looked like the game was unable to switch to 32bpp and was funky in 16bpp.

Thankfully (and to my surprise) the unofficial widescreen patch by JackFuste not only enables proper widescreen via game menu (previous method led to objects not rendering properly outside the 4:3 window):

cfUTIyY.png


But also fixes problems described above.

Log gets filled with new errors, but the D3D-related ones are gone:

Code:
Sacrifice build 0678, May 21 2001

3D_D3D: Enumerating DirectDraw devices
3D_D3D: Found display device : display : Primary Display Driver
3D_D3D: Enumerating 3D devices for display
3D_D3D: Unusable 3D device : RGB Emulation : Microsoft Direct3D RGB Software Emulation
3D_D3D: Reason:
3D_D3D: No hardware rasterization
3D_D3D: Found 3D device : Direct3D HAL : Microsoft Direct3D Hardware acceleration through Direct3D HAL
3D_D3D: Found 3D device : Direct3D T&L HAL : Microsoft Direct3D Hardware Transform and Lighting acceleration capable device
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D_D3D: MultiByteToWideChar() - ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER
3D sound provider supports max 64 samples
Loading
Cannot acquire keyboard device, error 2147942405
Cannot acquire mouse device, error 2147942405
Cannot acquire keyboard device, error 2147942405
Cannot acquire mouse device, error 2147942405
Changing to screen mode 1680x1050x32bpp
Screen mode is 1680x1050x32bpp
Triple buffering enabled
Side 0x0 has lost
Changing to screen mode 640x480x16bpp
Screen mode is 640x480x16bpp
Entered game mode 0
Entered exit code
Normal exit

And game works perfectly:

JTwPoxh.jpg


The only problem is that both download links for the patch mentioned on WSGF are gone.
But worry not, you can grab teh shit here:

https://www.mediafire.com/?udiv1mpatacub5h

Glorious PC master race out. :obviously:
 

Astral Rag

Arcane
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
7,771
How to play Monolith's excellent Gauntlet clone Get Medieval on a modern OS.

-Copy the contents of the original cd-rom/ .iso to your HD. Double click setup.exe and yell and curse at Microsoft. Delete setup.exe.
-Download this file and unzip it to the folder where the original setup.exe used to reside.
-Run the tweaked setup32.exe to install the game.
-I could launch the game on Windows 10 x64 but it was unplayable due to sprite flickering, YMMV.
-The sprite flickering can be fixed by using dgVoodoo 2. Just copy /paste the files from the MS folder to the main Get Medieval folder. Also drop dgVoodooSetup.exe in there and run it to fine-tune the game's visuals.
-Get Medieval!

Ib6iFfs.png

8303E510E99AD208300911E50CD7DB6FFC4D80C0
 
Last edited:

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
BROs, did some POP - SOT testan.

For proper widescreen (Hor+, not Ver-), you need the fix mentioned on WSGF:
http://ps2wide.net/pc.html#popst

This baby not only uses proper widescreen method, but also fixes inproper GUI positioning, so you no longer need the "old" fix:

Missing Interface in Widescreen

Because of the resolution change, your UI will most likely be (partially) invisible.
Open your "Hardware.ini" file and change:

Before:

CanStretchRect=1

After:

CanStretchRect=0

Save/Close.

GoG version also has a fix for the fog problem, so the "old" fix ins't necessary for it:

Fog bug

If you can barely see anything on the main menu background or in-game like I experienced, change these values in your "Hardware.ini":

Before:

ForceVSFog=0
InvertFogRange=1

After:

ForceVSFog=1
InvertFogRange=0

Save/Close.

Set your "Hardware.ini" file to read-only, just in case the game decides to write to it.
That is all. :obviously:
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Messages
1,868,749
Location
Kitchen sink
Isn't GOG version of SR2 already fixed and playable compared to Steam version? If so - can you still use GOG Connect to bring it here? If yes - do it.
 

gondor

Learned
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
68
Last edited by a moderator:

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
BROs, I'm doing some old PC games testin', comparing original and GoG versions, and so far I've found some games which simply won't install / update in x64 environment (Win7 SP1 in my case). Installers for these games crash with following error:

bpU0kuk.png


AFAIK nothing can be done about this, except using 32-bit environment (VM, etc.).

Those games are (tested so far):
  • Outcast - CD version can't be patched with Patch#3, DVD version won't install,
  • VTM - Redemption - can't be patched to 1.1,
  • MDK 2 - won't install.
 

Astral Rag

Arcane
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
7,771
Last edited:

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
Shiat.
Rayman 2 not only won't install on Win7 x64, but also won't work when copied from VM. Shame, 'cuz twas working fine on WinXP x86. Prolly old securom + multicore + moar was simply too much. :(

There's a fix online:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/0zwdzrhdv3vh9yh/R2_Patcher.zip

IMO it uses GoG / cracked exe or something (works without the CD plus original exe had no icon). But it gets job done: installs and runs the game fine. Will investigate more.
 

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
Jesus F. Christ, I've just learned the hard way that SS2 Kolya's Toll is now 101% online, so it "compares" your version of the game with the one on the server.

P5awNvG.png


Fantastic idea, since it takes fucking forever - it looks like the installer tries to DL almost the entire game at 1 KB/sec. What's wrong with CRC checks and DL only files that don't match?

:decline:
 

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
Last edited:

Siobhan

Arbiter
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
472
Location
1X 1Y 2Z
According to the search function the following haven't been mentioned yet here, although they have come up in other threads:

Albion Source Port


http://albion-hra.wz.cz/?page=clanek4

It allows you to run Albion natively on Windows and Linux, fixes some bugs, and comes with an improved 3d renderer. I haven't been able to actually find a source code repository for this, if anybody knows the link please post it, I prefer to compile these things myself.

Eye of the Beholder


It might not fit spekkio's set of criteria, but the All-Seeing Eye adds automapping functionality for the lazy bastards among us:

http://personal.inet.fi/koti/jhirvonen/ase/

Wizardry 7

Same deal, an automap mod:

http://www.moddb.com/mods/wizardry-7-automap-mod

Mostly a convenience function since the original mapping functionality in Wiz7 is terribly clunky. I remember it working fine for me, but some users have reported problems; ymmv.
 

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
Thanks, mang.
I put every fix I spot mentioned on the Dex into my magical txt, but it would be nice if people posted these here as well. Lazy fucks / decline and all. :(
 

gondor

Learned
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
68
According to the search function the following haven't been mentioned yet here, although they have come up in other threads:

Albion Source Port


http://albion-hra.wz.cz/?page=clanek4

It allows you to run Albion natively on Windows and Linux, fixes some bugs, and comes with an improved 3d renderer. I haven't been able to actually find a source code repository for this, if anybody knows the link please post it, I prefer to compile these things myself.

the origin of this source port is M-HT of the Pandora community. https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/albion.64477/

The repository is here:
https://github.com/M-HT/SR (4 games)
https://github.com/M-HT/SR/releases (Albion binaries)

as you might notice he statically recompiled also:
PS: 007 nightfire http://www.nightfirepc.com/downloads/misc.php

PPS: Siobhan, if your are interested in sources for doing source ports yourself, many more are here, not all of them have actual builds available so you would do the community a favour (e.g. Dark Reign 2). The same is true for the X-Coms and Warcraft by M-HT, he stated that he doesn't intend to do a Windows/Linux build (unlike Albion), while totally possible.

PPPS: Civ4 https://sourceforge.net/projects/civ4betterai/
 
Last edited:

Morgoth

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
31,049
Location
Apple Strudel Food Inspection GmbH
There's an unofficial patch for Deus Ex: Invisible War released:

http://ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147423


Visible Upgrade: Unofficial patch for Deus Ex 2
The patch contains various bugfixes and game improvements such as widescreen support, and provides a few tweaks. It optionally bundles the Unified Texture Pack. It works with the GOG and Steam versions of the game.

Original game bugs and issues that have been fixed or improved:

  • Multicore fix. Can be switched off for better performance (when it works)
  • Some speed-up of level loading, especially with vsync on
  • Fix for the desktop being visible during level loading on Vista and up. (Fullscreen only)
  • Fix for the mouse freezing or becoming invisible when using large font size settings in Windows

Game improvements:

  • All resolutions reported by the system, plus an optional custom display mode, are available from the options screen. The aspect ratio is shown as well
  • Easy switching between fullscreen and windowed mode
  • Field of view adjustment for widescreen is automatic - the horizontal view is extended instead of cropping off the top and bottom. This includes conversations and binocular/scope zoom
  • In addition the FOV can be adjusted to the user's preference
  • The HUD and menus are shown correctly, regardless of resolution and aspect ratio. In 3-monitor modes, the HUD is constricted to the middle monitor by default
  • Loading screens are shown correctly, at 4:3 aspect
  • The intro and cutscenes, which are letterboxed, are allowed to crop to fit the monitor (up to 16:9, a bit less when subtitles are on)
  • The fullscreen game can run on a display other than the primary. (Experimental)

Additionally some optional tweaks have been incorporated:

  • Minor HUD and GUI tweaks: Alternative reticles, disable the HUD or only the compass, symmetrically letterboxed conversations, disable the short intro movies
  • Walk by default, hold the qualifier key to run
  • Mouse sensitivity, which is normally stored in savegames, can be overridden using a central value
  • 'No Target' cheat: Make the NPCs ignore you

All tweaks are disabled by default.
 

gondor

Learned
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
68
Ecco the Dolphin: ''Ecco PC Fixed & Enhanced Edition" http://web8.orcaserver.de/ecco/downloads/games/index.php

Amulets & Armor: semi-official versions and source code release http://www.amuletsandarmor.com/index.htm

Heroes of Annihilated Empires : unofficial patch http://www.moddb.com/mods/unofficial-patch

General DDraw compatibility shim for DX7 and smaller under Windows (Vista/7/8/10) https://github.com/narzoul/DDrawCompat

Call of Cthulhu widescreen fix https://github.com/ThirteenAG/WidescreenFixesPack/releases/tag/callofcthulhu

Eternal daugther https://github.com/mmiszczyk/REternalDaughter
 
Last edited:

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
BROs, I've been testing Derp Space recently, since itz issues haven't been fixed to this day... :(
Problems:

1) Shitty controls

You can fix those by using Dead Space Mouse Fix 0.4

(Tested it with the GoG version - 1.0.0.222 - and it works fine).

Unfortunately, program checks the CRC of the .exe, so it won't work for some versions (pirated, but also newest Origin one :lol:)
For these versions, you can disable mouse acceleration and increase mouse sensitivity above the "acceptable" range, by editing the .ini as explained here:

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=232050455

If the game is unplaybale due to the camera wandering off to one direction all the time (happens to me when not using the mouse fix), either unplug all gamepads / joysticks, or (easier and worked for me), create an empty "joypad.txt" file and put it into "/users/BRO/documents/electronic arts/dead space/" directory.

2) Shitty FOV

You can modify FOV value for this game by using the Widescreen Fixer

For GoG version, choose the "Origin" game version in the program menu (it looks like both GoG and old Origin version share the same memory area for FOV value).
Going from default value:

R6mNo1T.jpg


To 0,5 is a massive incline:

OlHHgF9.jpg


OFC you can go higher:

PojfLKo.jpg


That is all. :obviously:
 
Last edited:

lightbane

Arcane
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
8,977
Why would someone still play Derp Space these days? I thought the Codex only cared for good and old games, not EA ones. :troll:

Dead Space 1 was okay though.
 

spekkio

Arcane
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
7,911
Nah, 'Dex plays mostly new shit games, and keeps baawwing about them. :roll:
"PoE, Wasted 2 or Numanuma - which is worse and why? DISCUSS!"
 

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.
Top Bottom